Just In Time For The Emmy’s

September 27th, 2015

It’s time to get back to it.  I’ve had to step away from the keyboard for a little while; ok it’s been almost a year.  As shameful as that is, it was a much needed break but I am excited to get back to doing what I love, talking about fashion!

So let me get right to it.

I can’t think of a better way to start blogging again than to talk about last week’s red-carpet fashions.  The Emmy’s was a great kick-off to award season, a great way to usher in the fall line-up of new and returning TV shows and of course a great way to say good-bye to summer and, make way for Fall 2015.

We all know there were some great looks and some bad looks at the Emmy’s.  That’s a given at any award show. So let me just by pass the good and bad and get right to the best and worst.

The award for absolutely worst dress of the night goes to Heidi Klum.  I am not going to try and sugar coat it by finding a nice way to describe this atrocity but I am going to be as clear and concise with my words.  This dress was UGLY!  Yes that is right, it was ugly!

Heidi Klum Emmy 15

Reasons began to run through my head trying to make sense of how Heidi ended up in this dress.  I mean it couldn’t have been by choice, right?! First thought, dress must be a competition win from a contestant on “Project Runway” who obviously shouldn’t have won.  Second thought, clearly a homemade project that she worked on with her kids, Big Bird attacking your right side was their inspiration?  But as I was working on my third explanation the name “Versace” was uttered from Heidi’s mouth.  Completely shocked but I guess we all miss the mark sometimes.  A mix mash of design elements that just didn’t work no matter how you styled it.

Audrey Plaza mastered the art of minimalism on Emmy night.  Keeping it simple with styling allowing her simple and classy deep V, high slit, black Alexandre Vauthier dress to speak for itself.

aubrey-plaza

Although Audrey was a top contender for my number 1 spot, an unsuspecting beauty came to the ball.  Often making my worst dress list but shockingly claiming and deserving the best dress award this year is Lady Gaga.  Gaga gave us all types of Hollywood Sophistication from head to toe.  Her fashion statement began as she step out of what I believe was a white Bentley.  Make-up was neutral, soft and subtle with the perfect light coral lip work well with her complexion.  Hair colour was the right shade of blonde and styled nicely into a sophisticated bob.  Because her gorgeous black, one shoulder Brandon Maxwell gown was everything right (silhouette, structure, and stylistic details) there was no need for over the top accessories.  Diamond studs were more than enough.  My favorite detail about the dress was the deep V like cut under the arm.  It was sexy and feminine detail that allowed for her to show some of her tattoos off without being tacky.

Lady-Gaga-Emmys-2015 (1)_Fotor_Collage

I felt like Lady Gaga embodied 2 major style Icon that night.  It was a definite Marilyn Monroe meets Grace Kelly moment.  Well Done Gaga!

Leave a Reply

